Walton F. Hoffmann Memorial Post 179

American Legion Auxiliary

President Sandi Schendel presents the Department Unit Member of the Year Award for 2019 - 2020 to Betty Kreutler.  Betty was selected over all submissions throughout the state of Texas.


Our 2019 Girls State Citizens (L to R) are Madison Hopcus, Lorena Gutierrez, Claire Rybicki, Chloe Edgell, Girls State Committee Member Nola Wray, Nadia Wright, Emily Cady, Catherine Drouillard and Sandi Schendel, Girls State Chairman and President of Walton F. Hoffmann Memorial Unit 179, American Legion Auxiliary. 

All Girls were juniors at St. John Paul II Catholic High School except for Emily Cady who was homeschooled.  They attended Girls State June 16 to 22, 2019 at Texas Lutheran University where they ran for office, wrote and debated bills, and left Girls State with a renewed sense of patriotism and love for their country.  They also had a trip to the Capitol where they met government officials. 

For more information on Girls State please visit http://girls-state.org/